DUI

DUI

DUI in Oregon

It seems like every year, the Oregon Legislature passes a new law to make the life of those charged or convicted of a DUI more difficult. If you are arrested for a DUI, it is important that you request an implied consent hearing as soon as possible.

 

I can discuss your options with you and help you get on with your life in a timely matter. Please don’t hesitate to call for a consultation.

Diversion

You may be eligible for a diversion program. If you complete the program, you will not have a DUI conviction on your record. The diversion program lasts one year but can be extended six months if you have started but not completed your obligation. You may not drink alcohol during the program.

For your information, Diversion Fees are $490.

The fee for alcohol screening is $150. In addition, there are costs for alcohol/drug classes for a minimum of 90 days of treatment.

First DUI

If this is your first DUI, here’s what you can expect:

  • Fine of $1,000 to $10,000
  • A one year driver’s license suspension
  • Probation ranging from 1 year to 5 years
  • Drug/alcohol evaluation and completion treatment (at least 90 days of treatment)
  • Attendance at the Victim Impact Panel. Cost: $50.

Second DUI

If you have been previously arrested for DUI, you will be expected to fulfill a variety of programs, evaluations, and pay fines in addition to those of a first time offender. I am here to help you navigate these requirements, which include but are not limited to the following:

  • Jail time typically two to 30 days (a maximum of one year in jail)
  • $1,500 to $6,250 in fines.
  • A driver’s license suspension of one to three years
  • Probation
  • Drug/alcohol evaluation and the successful completion of treatment
  • Attendance at the Victim Impact Panel
  • The installation of an ignition interlock system
  • Second DUI

Felony DUI

If you have been arrested for DUI two or more times, you will be expected to fulfill a variety of programs, evaluations, and pay fines in addition to those of a first or second time offender. I am here to help you navigate these requirements, which include but are not limited to the following:

  • 90 days minimum to five years in prison
  • A Non-Expungeable Class C Felony
  • Fine of $2,000 to $125,000
  • Permanent license revocation
  • Formal Probation
  • Drug/alcohol addiction evaluation and the completion of treatment
  • Attendance at the Victim Impact Panel

Quality Criminal Defense Representation

SEO